heart chakra

Heart Chakra: Everything You Need to Know About Your 4th Chakra

The Heart Chakra is home of uncoditional love, compassion and empathy. A balanced heart chakra will support you love yourself and love others and maintain a healthy heart and lungs.

What is the Heart Chakra?

Heart Chakra or Anahata, is the 4th Chakra in the 7 Chakras system, located in the center of your chest, the color is green and the element is air. This chakra is the center of love, balance, and connection, and helps to shape your capacity for compassion, affection, trust and love.

Physically, the heart Chakra governs the thymus gland and immune system, heart, lungs, breasts, arms, hands. Thymus gland procedures lymphocytes, control immune systems.

Heart Chakra Symbol

If your heart chakra is balanced, you will

  • have a strong sense of empathy for others and yourself.
  • compassionate  toward self and others, giving person
  • feel loving and calm
  • easily able to give and receive love
  • accept of self and others
  • takes responsibility for self
  • able to experience and express emotions without suppression
  • manage stress with ease
  • own healthy heart and lungs
Heart Chakra InformationHeart Chakra details
Meaning of Heart ChakraAnahata = (Universal Compassion)
Heart Chakra LocationIn the center of the chest, between the breasts
Heart Chakra Color  Green
Heart chakra symbol12 petalled green lotus

Heart Chakra Imbalance

Emotion Symptoms

Overactive Heart Chakra

  • clinginess and lack of self-independence
  • you may feel jealous

Underactive Heart Chakra

  • restlessness
  • difficulty trusting others
  • impatience and irritability
  • lack of empathy, compassion
  • you may have a low sense of self
  • feeling of rejection, loneliness, and depression

Physical Symptoms

Common physical signs of heart chakra imbalance relate to the upper part of the body, heart, immune system. Amongst other symptoms, the most occurring ones are:

  • a decrease in immune system function
  • heart and circulatory issues such as high blood pressure, heart attack, poor circulation
  • asthma or other respiratory ailments
  • breast cancer
  • stiff joints or joint problems in the hands
  • pain in the upper back, shoulders or wrists.
  • insomnia

Heart Chakra Healing: How To Open And Unblock Your Heart Chakra

A balanced heart chakra allows you to be sensitive to others, comfortable with who you are, to feel and give unconditional love and give you the  power to protect yourself from internal and external negativity.  So, ensuring your heart chakra, anahata chakra, is aligned is important. 

The color of the heart chakra is green which is the key to chakra balancing. Start by wearing green-colored clothes more often.

There are several techniques to work on balancing and opening heart chakra varying from food, crystals/gemstones, meditation, yoga poses, and chanting.

Heart Chakra Healing Food

The heart chakra is associated with beautiful green, so be sure eat a lot of green food. Lots of them!

Heart Chakra Foods
Heart Chakra Foods
  • Green fruits and vegetables such as grapes, cucumbers, apples, limes, guava and kiwi, kale, brussels sprouts, spinach, kale, peas, asparagus, broccoli and zucchini…
  • Green tea
  • Cacao is always a amazing heart opener. Otherwise, there are so many herbs to mix with such as basil, rosemary, thyme, parsley and coriander.

Heart Chakra Healing Crystals/Stones

Green Jade, Rose Quart, Malachite, Green Aventurine are one of the best crystals for heart chakra.

Green Jade.

green jade

This soothing green stone is a powerful heart healer

  • soothe and strengthen the nervous system

Rose quartz.

This stone of love has a very strong effect on the heart

  • purifies and open the heart
  • strengthen and balance the circulatory system
  • used to treat ailments of the heart, thymus gland
  • the energy of rose quartz encourages empathy, forgiveness
  • clear out anger, jealousy, and resentment of others


This tone of transformation is using to balance the heart

  • can treat lowers blood pressure
  • encourage compassion for yourself and others and strengthen your natural healing abilities.
  • maintains a healthy heart and circulatory system

Green aventurine.

This stone of good luck will energize and clear the heart chakra blockage

  • reducing the  heart attack
  • balance blood pressure
  • support harmonious relationship

Heart Chakra Healing Essential Oils

Using these oils to open up and rebalance your heart chakra


This warm, romantic scent of jasmine is ideal essential oil for healing the heart chakra

  • boost your sense of confidence
  • Increase alertness
  • Treat emotional stress, low libido and insomnia


This soft, sweet oil is perfect for a romantic relationship

  • reduce blood pressure
  • relieve stress
  • help to have deep sleep


This uplifting and citrus aroma is one of the good choice to heal your heart chakra

  • improve blood circulation
  • boost energy
  • relieve stress

Heart Chakra Healing Chant/Mantra/Sound

The seed mantra of the base chakra is “YUM”.  The sound when chanted echoes and reaches directly to the center of the fourth chakra and activates it right away. You can simply sit in a quiet place, visualise the colour green in the region of the heart chakra, and chant “YUM MMMM”  a few times.

Heart Chakra Healing Yoga Pose

Yoga with heart opening poses help you to let go of physical tension, release emotional blockages, stimulating and balancing your heart chakra. Some of the yoga poses such as Cat pose & Cow Pose, Camel Pose, Cobra Pose will help to heal the imbalance of your heart chakra.

Heart Chakra Yoga Poses
Heart Chakra Yoga Poses
  • Cat pose & Cow Pose.
    • stretch hips, back, chest, abdomen
    • improve blood circulation
  • Camel Pose – Ustrasana.
    • stimulate the chest open the heart
    • reduce anxiety and fatigue
    • strengthens the spine, arms
  • Cobra Pose – Bhujangasana. This opening heart posture
    • strengthen shoulder, arms, back muscles
    • encourage compassion and connection
    • Improve blood circulation

Heart Chakra Healing Affirmation

  • “I choose joy, compassion, and love.”
  • “I love myself unconditionally, and I give the same love to others.”
  • “I forgive others, and I forgive myself.”

Heart Chakra is center of love, for compassion, affection, trust, keeping heart chakra balanced will help you have a strong sense of empathy for others and yourself.

Interested in more other Chakra beside Heart Chakra? Go to Root Chakra, Sacral Chakra, Solar Plexus Chaka, Throat Chakra, Third Eye Chakra and Crown Chakra for more information!

About Author

Gabby has a passion for yoga, crystal healing, meditation, she made this website to document her spiritual journey and wanted to share it to everyone.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *